A perfect day for chili-recipe included

I’ve always been proud of my chili.  It’s unlike what my Mom made when I was growing up and really unlike what most people make here. I don’t brag about my cooking very often, but this is one that I’m proud of and it’s all mine.  Most chili recipes are very similar, but mine was written through trial and error and finding what works for me and my tastes.  It’s one of the few recipes that I’ll actually follow. I decided to include the recipe for those interested.  Enjoy!

IMG_0555

Chili

Ingredients:

* About 3 lbs of any kind of beef roast, cubed into ¼ inch cubes (I like sirloin or tri-tip)

* 4 cups of diced yellow onion

* 2 green peppers diced

* 4 T minced fresh garlic

* 4 T chili powder

* 2 T seasoning-mix (Essence, Mrs. Dash or something similar)

* 1 t plus 1 pinch kosher salt

* 4 t ground cumin

* 2 t Mexican Oregano

* ½ t Cayenne

* 2 15 oz cans of crushed or whole tomatoes

* 1 small can of tomato paste

* 2 t white or brown sugar

* 2 cups of water

* 2 cups of beef stock

* 2 Jalapeno peppers (1 split, cored and sliced, the other split and sliced with seeds intact)

* 4 cans of chili beans, or about 32 oz

Mix all dried spices in a bowl.  Sear the meat in a few tablespoons of vegetable oil and add a third of the spice mixture, working in batches. The pan should be very hot and the meat should brown quickly, not turn gray and steam. When just browned, remove from pot.  Add onions, green peppers, garlic and jalapenos, and sauté until translucent, about 5 minutes.  Season with a bit of the seasoning mixture.  Add tomatoes, beef, and beans into the pot, cook for a few minutes and then add water and stock.  Bring to a boil and then let simmer for a few hours.  Adjust spices with the seasoning mixture until it’s right for your tastes.  Cover and refrigerate overnight.  A few hours before you’re ready to serve, put on the stove and bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer.  Serve with sour cream, cheese, chives, or pickled jalapenos.  Coronas and corn casserole are great sides for this.  Enjoy!

3 Responses to “A perfect day for chili-recipe included”

  1. Debbie Waggoner Says:

    I put cumin in my chili as well. Might have to give your’s a try sometime.

  2. Ryan Says:

    I love cumin, a very under-used spice. Anything Mexican or Southwestern gets a dash of it in my house.

  3. Savannah Says:

    Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

Leave a Reply

